Te Roopu Taiao and Te O Marama

Te Roopu Taiao

Te Roopu Taiao (The Councils/Tangata Whenua Joint Management Committee) was established in the 1990’s to develop relationships between the local authorities and tangata whenua of Murihiku especially in matters concerning environmental resource management.

The group is made up of councillor and officer representatives from the four Councils:

  • Environment Southland
  • Southland District Council
  • Gore District Council
  • Invercargill City Council

With representatives from the four Papatipu Runanaga in Murihiku:

  • Hokonui Runanga
  • Te Runaka O Awarua
  • Oraka/Aparima Runaka
  • Waihopai Runaka

Te Roopu Taiao meets four times a year and deals with the higher level political interface, budget setting, accessing resources, commitments for members.

Te Ao Marama

Te Ao Marama takes care of the day-to-day management of Resource Management Act matters under the Local Government Act 2002.

Te Ao Marama is run and operated directly by representatives from each of the four Papatipu Rūnanga in Murihiku/Southland, and some representation from Te Rūnanga O Ngai Tahu when required.