Kai Tahu Ki Otago

Kia Tahu Ki Otago a group established to enhance relationships between the Otago Regional Councils and tangata whenua.

The group is made up with representatives of the four runanga having a spiritual and practical interest in the area and with whom consultation should occur. These are:

  • Te Runanga Moeraki,
  • Kati Huirapa Runanga,
  • Ki Pukertaraki, Te Runanga of Otakou and
  • Hokonui Runanga.

In 2003 a memorandum of understanding was signed between the Council and the four Runanga to promote and facilitate effective consultation and liaison between the four Papatipu Runanga and the Otago Regional Council.

The group meets at least three times a year to share any matters relevant to the parties represented.